FireRock GC’s Lofty Reputation Grows










Reed On The Greens April 12, 2019
by Jeffrey Reed, Editor,

So much has been said about London’s lofty reputation for hosting big-time sports tournaments like the Memorial Cup and World Figure Skating Championships that sometimes golf gets put at the back of the bus. But in fact, major golf events are as much a part of London’s sports identity as are any other tournaments which gather national or international attention.

Ever since London’s Sunningdale Golf and Country Club hosted the LPGA Tour’s first Canadian tournament, the Supertest Classic in 1966 and ’67, London has teed up highly-successful tournaments. London Hunt and Country Club-hosted 1970 Canadian Open, 1993 du Maurier Ltd. Classic, 2006 CN Canadian Women’s Open and 2014 CP Women’s Open were the biggest tournaments to touch down in London.

Alyssa Stoddart at FireRock GC first tee. Photo: Jeffrey Reed/

Continuing that legacy have been many others, including most recently the Mackenzie Tour PGA Tour Canada’s season-ending Freedom 55 Financial Championship, this year for a fifth time at Highland Country Club from September 12-15.

But perhaps the tournament gathering the most buzz early this golf season is the May 27-31 Canadian University and College Championship at Komoka’s FireRock Golf Club. Although the Thomas McBroom-designed FireRock already has a reputation for teeing up both beauty and brawn, it will gain even more national attention next month.

Last fall, FireRock, in partnership with host school Fanshawe College, hosted the highly-successful Ontario College Athletic Association (OCAA) Championship. In 2014, Canadian Brooke Henderson captured the PGA Women’s Championship of Canada at the Komoka course.

“I’m very proud of the fact FireRock continues to host big-time tournaments,” said FireRock’s director of golf Amanda Cosentino. “Our upscale public layout has already proven it can play host to prestigious golf tournaments, including the OCAA Championship and of course the PGA Women’s Championship where Brooke Henderson won before starring on the LPGA Tour. So we’re excited about the future and about showcasing what makes FireRock a special place.”

Fanshawe Falcons golf coach Colin Robertson, named coach of the year by the Canadian College Athletic Association, said he’s thrilled that “the best university and college varsity golfers will be right in our backyard competing, and we’re excited to be the host college for this national event. Our success and our hosting shows just how far we’ve come.”

At the OCAAs at FireRock, Braydon White of Barrie and Alyssa Stoddart of Orangeville won OCAA gold for Fanshawe in men’s and women’s competition, while the Falcons women won team gold – a school first – and the men silver.

Outgoing Mackenzie Tour President Jeff Monday at Highland CC signature hole No. 10. Photo: Jeffrey Reed/

At the October CCAA championship at Desert Blume Golf Club in Medicine Hat, Alta, the Falcons men’s squad finished fifth and women’s team sixth, with Stoddart winning women’s individual bronze – Fanshawe’s first national golf medal.

The Freedom 55 event, of course, is where we’ll see the stars of tomorrow like Listowel’s Corey Conners, a Mackenzie Tour grad who earlier this month captured the PGA Tour’s Valero Texas Open.

Outgoing Mackenzie Tour president Jeff Monday said, “Take the London Knights. What they do know in this community is, these are players we’re going to see someday in the NHL. The Knights have developed that brand. And that’s pretty much where we are. We’re almost the equivalent of the Knights in golf.”

Said Monday, “(London) is a hockey community, but it’s also a golf community.”

For a complete list of London, area 2019 golf tournaments, click here.


Jeffrey Reed is an award-winning member of the Golf Journalists Association of Canada, a three-time author and a 40-year member of the London sports media. Contact him at

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

About jeffreyreed

A leading Canadian communications professional. Corporate office established 1989.