Three-Time Winners On International Tours Go Straight To Korn Ferry

Beginning in 2020, International Tours to award immediate three-win Korn Ferry Tour promotion

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Florida—The PGA TOUR announced October 15 that beginning with the 2020 seasons, its three International Tours—PGA TOUR Latinoamérica, Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada and PGA TOUR Series-China—will reward an immediate promotion and membership on the Korn Ferry Tour to any player who wins three tournaments on one Tour in a season.

This follows the long-time tradition established by the Korn Ferry Tour, which began the original three-win promotion in 1997 that sends three-time winners in a season directly to the PGA TOUR. Since the inception, 12 players have won three Korn Ferry Tour tournaments in a season and made the jump.

File photo: F55 Financial VP Abbie MacMillan with Mackenzie Tour Player of the Year Tyler McCumber. Photo: Jeffrey Reed/

“This is one more incentive for the players who play high-level golf on our three Tours in Latin America, Canada and China. Players have shown that they are ready to compete and contend once they get to the Korn Ferry Tour. Giving them an immediate track to that Tour is an exciting addition we’re pleased to announce,” said Rob Ohno, PGA TOUR Senior Vice President, International Tours.

PGA TOUR Latinoamérica began in 2012, with the Mackenzie Tour following a year later and PGA TOUR Series-China starting in 2014. Since then, eight different players have won at least three times in a year—with China’s Zecheng “Marty” Dou still the only International Tour player to capture four titles in a season, something he did in 2016 on PGA TOUR Series-China.

“The talent level on these Tours is so high that these players can get hot and win in bunches, and we look forward to when that happens,” Ohno continued. “The Tours provide a pathway to the PGA TOUR, and the players’ next stop is the Korn Ferry Tour. If a player plays well and wins three times, we want to send him on his way right then.”

China’s Haotong Li was the first player to accomplish a three-win season, in 2014. Since then, New Zealanders Josh Geary and Nick Voke won three tournaments on that Tour, with Dou winning four times.

In 2015, Mexico’s Rodolfo Cazaubon became the first PGA TOUR Latinoamérica player to win three tournaments in a season. Current PGA TOUR player Nate Lashley followed Cazaubon, in 2016. Dan McCarthy was the first Mackenzie Tour player to accomplish the feat, with Tyler McCumber the most recent, in 2018.

International Tour Players with Three Wins in a Season

2014 Haotong Li (China), PGA TOUR Series-China – Jianye Tianzhu Henan Open, Hainan Open, Tour Championship
2015 Rodolfo Cazaubon (Mexico), PGA TOUR Latinoamérica – Lexus Panama Classic, Dominican Republic Open, Lexus Peru Open
2015 Josh Geary (New Zealand), PGA TOUR Series-China – Buick Open, Lanhai Open, Yulongwan Yunnan Open
2016 Dan McCarthy (U.S.), Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada – Canada Life Open, GolfBC Championship, Players Cup
2016 Nate Lashley (U.S.), PGA TOUR Latinoamérica – San Luis Championship, Copa Diners Club International, Shell Championship
2016 Zecheng Dou* (China), PGA TOUR Series-China – Henan Open, United Investments Wuhan Open, Yulongwan Yunnan Open, Nanjing Open
2018 Tyler McCumber (U.S.), Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada – Osprey Valley Open, Syncrude Oil Country Championship, Players Cup
2018 Nick Voke (New Zealand), PGA TOUR Series-China – Qinhuangdao Championship, Macau Championship, Clearwater Bay Open

* Won four times

About PGA TOUR Latinoamérica

PGA TOUR Latinoamérica is a professional golf tour created in 2012 by the PGA TOUR in collaboration with promoters, clubs and national golf federations in Latin America. The inaugural season in 2012 featured 11 tournaments in seven countries in the Latin American region. Since then, it has grown to include 17 events across 10 different countries in 2019. It will hold events in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Peru and the United States.

The leading money-winner at the end of each season is awarded the Roberto De Vicenzo Award, and the leading 10 money-winners at the end of each season earn status on the Korn Ferry Tour for the following year.

About the Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada

The Mackenzie Tour – PGA TOUR Canada is a series of tournaments played across Canada each summer, where tomorrow’s stars begin the path to the PGA TOUR. The leading 10 money-winners at the end of each season earn status on the Korn Ferry Tour for the following year.

The Mackenzie Tour’s mission is to deliver a PGA TOUR experience for its members, fans, volunteers and partners in order to develop the future stars of professional golf and enrich the communities it visits.

About PGA TOUR Series-China

PGA TOUR Series-China is a professional golf tour, featuring open-competition to all nationalities. PGA TOUR Series-China attracts players, mainly from Asia and other Pacific Rim countries, although members have come from five continents. PGA TOUR Series-China is owned and operated by the PGA TOUR and sanctioned by the General Administration of Sport of China. It operates in partnership with the China Golf Association and Shankai Sports. The leading 10 money-winners at the end of each season earn status on the Korn Ferry Tour for the following year.

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

About jeffreyreed

A leading Canadian communications professional. Corporate office established 1989.